A small-truck driver could be fined $1,000 or more for operating his vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, according to new guidelines issued by the city of Atlanta.
The guidelines, issued Thursday by the Georgia Department of Revenue, require operators to submit a police report within 30 days of any violation, or a summons to appear within 60 days of an infraction.
A small-trailer operator who fails to submit the required report within that time frame could also face a fine of $1.50 or more.
“In Georgia, a minor’s ability to drive a small vehicle under the most restrictive circumstances is not guaranteed, and a violation is a potential infraction that can result in a civil fine,” the guidelines state.
Georgia’s small-vehicle code, which came into effect in March, was originally designed to prevent intoxicated drivers from wreaking havoc on the roadways of Atlanta and other parts of the state.
The new guidelines are the first issued under the new code, and they come as the state’s Department of Transportation continues to work to make Atlanta more sober and safe for drivers.
Atlanta police Chief David Turner said that the new guidelines, which will take effect in February, will help to prevent other drivers from violating the code, while also providing some safety measures for those who do.
The new guidelines say that “any driver who operates a motor vehicle while intoxicated and operating the vehicle in violation of a specified traffic regulation or ordinance shall be fined by the City of Atlanta at the discretion of the city’s Department.”
The city is also going to be increasing enforcement efforts against drivers who fail to report to the police within 30-days of the infraction, and to provide those who fail those notices with the right to a hearing.
It’s a big step, Turner said.
“We’ve got to make sure our city is as safe as it can be for everybody to drive, and we have to make our roads as safe and accessible for everybody.”
Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed said the city was working with the department to create guidelines that would help make Atlanta’s roads safer.
Reed said the new guideline will be reviewed by the Atlanta Police Department, which is expected to issue the rules in the coming weeks.
According to the new rules, operators must notify police if they are pulled over by officers for any violation of the law.
At the same time, they must also take a breathalyzer test to determine if they have been convicted of a traffic infraction or other traffic infractions.
As a condition of the fine, the operator must complete an alcohol test once a month for at least one year.
An operator who is not arrested and is not found to have been operating a small truck or a trailer without a valid license plate must also submit a report to city officials.
Drivers who operate a vehicle while impaired by alcohol will also have to report their violations to police and pay a $100 fine.
In addition to the fines, the guidelines require a driver to submit two police reports each year, and drivers to complete an “alcohol and drug test and follow up” questionnaire.
After that, the city is going to make it easier for small-car drivers to report problems with the code.
It’s currently difficult to report a violation to police because it’s up to the discretion and jurisdiction of the officer.
To make matters worse, drivers who refuse to submit these reports to the city will face a $500 fine.